Home Institute Boards and Commitees Directorate



according to Section 11 (1) of the by-law from 05/31/2005
and Section 3 of the by-laws of the board of directors from 11/17/2005

The board of directors advises the managing board in all important affairs of the Foundation, those pertaining to research and teaching affairs as well as to the care of patients. It advises, in particular, about suggestions made to the supervisory board based on Section 8 Paragraph 1 of the statute:

  • the economic plan,
  • development and expansion plans as well as financial and investment programs,
  • general rules governing the implementation of the economic plan,
  • real estate and construction affairs,
  • the creation, modification and abolition of departments if suggested by the board of directors,
  • changes to the by-laws and
  • the abolition of the foundation


  • the members of the managing board
  • the heads of the departments with inpatient beds, the institutes "Neuropsychology and Clinical Psychology Institute" and "Psychopharmacology Institute" as well as a member selected by a professor working full-time for the Foundatio
  • the care manager

Members of the board of directors

In alphabetical order
(last updated 10/2019)

Prof. Dr. Dr. Tobias Banaschewski
Medical Director of the Department of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Psychotherapy

Prof. Dr. Martin Bohus
Scientific Director of the Institute of Psychiatric and Psychosomatic Psychotherapy

Prof. Dr. Herta Flor
Head of the Institute of Cognitive and Clinical Neuroscience

Prof. Dr. Lutz Frölich
Head of the Gerontopsychiatry

Dr. Matthias Janta
Commercial Managing Director

Prof. Dr. Falk Kiefer
Medical Director of the Department of Addictive Behaviour and Addiction Medicine

Prof. Dr. Peter Kirsch
elected Member, Head of the Department of Clinical Psychology

Prof. Dr. Andreas Meyer-Lindenberg
Head of the Executive Board, Medical Director of the Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy

Prof. Dr. Christian Schmahl
Medical Director of the Department of Psychosomatic Medicine and Psychotherapy

Prof. Dr. Rainer Spanagel
Head of the Institute of Psychopharmakology

Claus Staudter
Director of Nursing


Zentralinstitut für Seelische Gesundheit (ZI) - https://www.zi-mannheim.de